BIP Services addresses the following:
(1) Identification, discussion, confrontation and change of abusive and controlling behavior to victims, including partner
and children. All forms of domestic violence shall be identified and challenged, with specific attention given to all physical, emotional, verbal, mental, sexual and economic abuse, as well as intimidation and the destruction or damage to pets or
property. Other methods of control shall be included.
(2)Identification and discussion of the effects battering has on victims, including children who witness such violence.
The short and long term effects of abuse and violence are to be presented. Batterers shall be expected to take responsibility
for creating these consequences. The goal of these exercises shall be to build empathy.
(3)Confrontation of excuses for battering. This shall include a philosophical stance that violence and abuse are the sole responsibility and choice of the batterer, and are never justified.
(4)Identification and discussion of non-cooperative and abusive forms of communication and quick fix responses.
(5)Identification and practice of cooperative and non-abusive forms of communication, positive communication skills,
long term solutions and responsible ways of treating partners, children, and others.
(6) Identification of cultural and social influences that contribute to battering behavior. The program shall not allow these
issues to excuse or justify individual responsibility of abuse and violence.
Fees for services
A $200.00 fee is required before an appointment to do the assessment is made.
This fee INCLUDES the Workbook (cost $25.00) and an Orientation Class (cost $25.00).
The BIP Classes are weekly and fees are $25.00 each (paid at each class).
Credit for 24 group classes required for successful completion.
BIP Services is Certified by the Kansas Attorney Generals Office and our mission is to hold batterers accountable,
create nonviolent behavior, and promote safety for victims. On a wider scale, batterers intervention seeks to
create social norms that reject rather than affirm or ignore battering within intimate family and household
relationships. BIP Services use the Family Peace Initiative curriculum.
Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
Jerry Wallace, MA, LAC
Batterers Intervention Program Services, LLC
P.O. Box 405
Cherryvale, Kansas 67335-0405
We serve the following locations in Southeast Kansas
COUNTIES: Allen, Chautauqua, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, and Wilson
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS: Eleventh, Fourteenth, and Thirty-First
KSA 21- 5414 Domestic Battery
(1) Knowingly or recklessly causing bodily harm by a family or household member against a family or household member; or
(2) knowingly causing physical contact with a family or household member by a family or household member when done in
a rude, insulting or angry manner.
(b) Domestic battery is:
(1) Except as provided in subsection (b)(2) or (b)(3), a class B person misdemeanor and the offender shall be sentenced to not
less than 48 consecutive hours nor more than six months' imprisonment and fined not less than $200, nor more than $500 or
in the court's discretion the court may enter an order which requires the offender to undergo a domestic violence offender
assessment conducted by a certified batterer intervention program and follow all recommendations made by such program.
(2) except as provided in subsection (b)(3), a class A person misdemeanor, if, within five years immediately preceding commission
of the crime, an offender is convicted of domestic battery a second time and the offender shall be sentenced to not less than
90 days nor more than one year's imprisonment and fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000. The five days imprisonment mandated by this paragraph may be served in a work release program only after such offender has served 48 consecutive hours imprisonment, provided such work release program requires such offender to return to confinement at the end of each day in
the work release program. The offender shall serve at least five consecutive days imprisonment before the offender is granted probation, suspension or reduction of sentence or parole or is otherwise released. As a condition of any grant of probation, suspension of sentence or parole or of any other release, the offender shall be required to undergo a domestic violence offender assessment conducted by a certified batterer intervention program and follow all recommendations made by such program.
(3) a person felony, if, within five years immediately preceding commission of the crime, an offender is convicted of domestic
battery a third or subsequent time, and the offender shall be sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more than one year's imprisonment and fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $7,500. The offender convicted shall not be eligible for release on probation, suspension or reduction of sentence or parole until the offender has served at least 90 days imprisonment. As a
condition of any grant of probation, suspension of sentence or parole or of any other release, the offender shall be required to undergo a domestic violence offender assessment conducted by a certified batterer intervention program and follow all recommendations made by such program, unless otherwise ordered by the court or department of corrections. If the offender
does not undergo a domestic violence offender assessment conducted by a certified batterer intervention program and follow all recommendations made by such program, the offender shall serve not less than 180 days nor more than one year's imprisonment. The 90 days imprisonment mandated by this paragraph may be served in a work release program only after such offender has served 48 consecutive hours imprisonment, provided such work release program requires such offender to return to confinement at the end of each day in the work release program.
Victim Liaison and Assessments
Vickie Malle-LeFever, MSCJ, LCAC
Vickie L. Malle Consulting
We follow the Family Peace Initiative curriculum. We are dedicated to ending family violence through compassion, Integrity and expertise. BIP Services is committed to treating every individual with respect and dignity. The process of changing behavior begins with a safe environment where self-exploration can occur. We endeavor to create this space for those we serve.
120 SW 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612-1597
Scroll down for instructions on making referrals to BIP Services
Class dates, times and locations
Wednesdays 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm at Christian Church 8495 Dorn Road, Thayer, KS
Saturdays 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm at Assembly of God Church 305 E. Main Street, Cherryvale, KS
Sundays 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm at Parsons First Christian Church 1500 S. 19th Street, Parsons, KS
Trained advocates available 24/7
State of Kansas Hotline
Topics covered by Family Peace Initiative curriculum include:
From the Kansas Attorney General list of Certified Programs
3320 SW Harrison
Topeka, Kansas 66611
Office: (785) 350-2858
Fax: (844) 272-4256
PO Box 405
Cherryvale, Kansas 67335
Angela M. Evans, MSW
PO Box 405, Cherryvale, KS 67335
Director, Assessments and Facilitator
Jerry R. Wallace, MA, LAC
Batterers Intervention Program Services, LLC
24 hour hotline
Batterers Intervention Program Services LLC
Certified by the Office of the Kansas Attorney General
The Batterers Intervention Program (BIP) is an education based program that makes victim safety its primary priority, holding offenders accountable, and promoting a coordinated community response to domestic violence.
(1) An assessment is given to ensure appropriateness in the program (Kansas Domestic Violence Offender Assessment).
(2) If found appropriate for BIP Services, an orientation class will be scheduled ($50.00 fee from Assessment applied).
(3) Followed by a minimum of twenty-four group classes conducted weekly (approximately 2 hours long).
THE REQUIREMENTS: (a signed agreement and workbook will be required to begin):
(1) Weekly attendance to group classes must be maintained with a limited number of absences allowed.
(2) All financial responsibility must be maintained and is a vital part of the accountability process.
(3) Participation in classes are required including completing homework assignments.
Clients accepting personal responsibility and accountability are vital to successfully completing this program.
After fifteen weeks of attendance the participant will be required to successfully show a level of competence in
understanding the curriculum in order to be allowed to complete the last nine weeks of the BIP program.
A final letter of accountability is also required and read to the group before completion of the program.
How to make a BIP Referral
NOTE: REFERRALS ARE TO BE MADE BY A COURT OR STATE OFFICIAL
(i.e. Attorney at Law, Court Services, Community Corrections, State Parole, Child Welfare, Municipal Court)
BIP SERVICES REFERRAL FORM
(copy and paste this form to a word document)
Contact Person and title:
FULL NAME OF CLIENT:
CONTACT PHONE NUMBER(S):
REASON FOR REFERRAL:
(PRETRIAL, DIVERSION, SUPERVISION (PO,ISO,CSO), CASE MANAGEMENT)
*The client will be contacted by phone to set an appointment to complete a Domestic Violence Offender Assessment per Kansas Statute. After completion of the Assessment a Recommendation form will be emailed to the referral contact person. The assessment fee of $200.00 is required up front. Failure to keep a scheduled appointment (without rescheduling at least two hours prior) will result a $25.00 missed appointment.
*ASSESSMENT RECOMMENDATIONS CAN NOT BE COMPLETED UNTIL SUFFICENT LEGAL DOCUMENTS ARE RECEIVED. THESE MAY INCLUDE: PROBABLE CAUSE AFFIDAVIT, POLICE REPORTS, ORDER OF PROTECTION, PSI, ETC.
EMAIL TO firstname.lastname@example.org
ALL DOCUMENTS ARE TO BE SENT TO email@example.com AS ATTACHMENTS.
THREE SIMPLE STEPS:
1) Email completed referral form.
Download Button below for referral form or copy and paste form below to word document.
*NOTE #3 BELOW - PAYMENT OF FEES - PAYMENTS TO BE PAID NO LATER THAN 30 DAYS AFTER REFERRAL*
2) Email legal information: such as, police reports (KSOR KSAR), Probable Cause Affidavit, PSI.
*the official narrative of the incident causing referral is needed before a recommendation can be made*
3) Payment of Fees (within 30 days of the referral). THE $200.00 ASSESSMENT FEE NEEDS TO BE GIVEN TO THE
REFERRAL SOURCE BY MONEY ORDER (NO PERSONAL CHECKS) MADE OUT TO BIP SERVICES. THE REFERRAL SOURCE IS TO
CONTACT BIP SERVICES AT (620) 432-1244 FOR MAILING INSTRUCTIONS. DO NOT SEND TO PO BOX.
AN ASSESSMENT APPOINTMENT WILL BE MADE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE
AFTER PAYMENT OF FEES ARE MADE.
AFTER ASSESSMENT, IF FOUND APPROPRIATE FOR BIP SERVICES, AN ORIENTATION CLASS/WORKBOOK FEE OF $50.00 ($200.00 ASSESSMENT FEE COVERS); TWENTY-FOUR WEEKLY CLASSES WITH A FEE OF $25.00 EACH ALSO REQUIRED.
APPOINTMENTS NOT MADE BEFORE THE REFERRAL FORM AND THE ASSESSMENT FEE IS RECEIVED.
ASSESSMENT RECOMMENDATIONS NOT MADE BEFORE RECEIVING THE LEGAL DOCUMENTS.
Please contact BIP Services at (620) 432-1244 if you have any questions